Twitter is Awesome :-)

Posted: February 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

I just wanted to dedicate a blog to the awesomeness of Twitter (spell check didn’t identify awesomeness as being incorrect, so I’m justified in using it). Twitter has really helped ignite my passion for education and has enabled me to spread the messages I want to get across off the ground. I have learned from so many people of diverse backgrounds: teachers, administrators, principals, students, caring community members, authors, news reporters, etc.

I know I still have an immensely long way to go, but I’ve never felt more confident that true, raw success  is possible. When I go to Google, type in “Baltimore Schools Twitter” and see @bmoreschools come up as the first hit, I know my mission to improve education reform is possible (Give the Google search a try; It works!) . I know frustration often seeps through my tweets, but I don’t feel like Baltimore, or any other city, is on point in terms of ed reform.

I’ve always felt that the first step to effective reform is to bring together everyone in the community to discuss ways to best meet the needs of our students. Using teacher jargon or reform jargon and holding discussions exclusively with other educators or reformers isn’t going to make enough of a difference, because too many populations are excluded. I want everyone to contribute comfortably to the conversation, including students, former students, parents, professionals in the education field and outside the education field, and all other community members.

I feel like the community is coming to fruition, and Twitter is playing a big part in making that happen, and for that I am very, very happy.

Below, I included the John Mayer video, “Waiting on the World to Change.” (My professor played it for us, so I stole her idea)

“Now we see everything that’s going wrong

With the world and those who lead it

We just feel like we don’t have the means

To rise above and beat it.”

I think we do have the means. We have to dedicate time, energy, passion, and perseverance.

Booo I don’t think the video works, but you can watch it on YouTube for the full effect!

Leave a Reply

