Approaching Thanksgiving Break

Posted: November 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

I don’t really have too much to say. I just wanted to get that Rihanna video off the top of my blog. I will reiterate that giving students the opportunity to select their own topic to research often leads to them becoming more connected to the topic and interested in the assignment.

I have a girl who is off-the-wall goofy, and when it was her turn to give her presentation on teenage pregnancy, she became serious and was intent on getting her message across. She had a child as a teen, and her overall message to the group was not to do that. I found that teenage pregnancy was the most popular topic. I teach a lot of students who are single parents or who had children at a young age, so they really relate to the topic.

One of my students said today, “This is my most fun class.” I’ve had students from prior semesters tell me that as well. I incorporate a lot of hands-on and group activities, so my groups really get to know each other. We get things done, so I don’t think “fun” equals unproductive, just interactive.

Leave a Reply

