A New Blog about Whatever

Posted: July 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ll keep updating this blog about education, but I decided to start up another blog, called journal ramblings. There you can actually see handwritten pages from my journal that I am trying to get back into writing in daily.

Last summer I took a course called the Invitational Summer Institute (ISI) at Towson University. I received 6 graduate credits in 3 weeks. The class was intense. We sat around a table and read our personal journal entries aloud at the beginning of each meeting. The experience was unique and very personal. People cried many times because they were sharing very emotional experiences and memories. I didn’t cry because that’s just not my thing, but the class was invaluable. We wrote handwritten journal entries every day. Of course, we say we’ll continue the new habit after the class has ended, but a year went by and I think I added a total of 2 new entries. I’m hoping that making my journals public will inspire me to write, and maybe inspire others to get back into writing. One is never too old or young to keep a journal.

I don’t really care about comments on my journal ramblings page as much as I do here. I’m not really looking for suggestions/praise/criticism. I only hope that my writing will encourage others to pick a pen up and give their keyboards a rest. There is something peaceful about escaping the confines of font types, the red line under misspelled words, and copying and pasting. I’m going back to good old-fashioned handwriting.

Comments
  1. Dee says:

    I love this post.

    I have been writing in journals since the age of 13, I am a full grown adult now..:) I will always believe in the power of the pen for being very therapeutic if nothing else. I am glad that someone else feels the same!!

  2. mdeducator81 says:

    Thanks! I enjoy writing, even if it’s only about the everyday mundane. I just want to get back into the habit of daily writing, and I’m trying to spend less time on the computer. That’s pretty amazing that you’ve kept a journal since 13. My journal writing has been more intermittent, but I’m hoping to be more consistent now.

Leave a Reply

