Mentoring for the Y of Central Maryland

Posted: June 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

I met with someone at The Y of Central Maryland’s Perry Hall branch today (I guess they really don’t refer to it as YMCA anymore). I signed myself up for their brand new mentoring program. Apparently the mentoring program had been going on through another organization, Building Futures, but this is the first year the Y is getting involved. I was wondering exactly what they meant by “mentoring.” I was told I would be signing up for classes with the student,Β  such as teen palates.

Once I complete the training, I’ll be working with a student (who could be anywhere from 6-18) for 2 hours a week, for a one year commitment. Mentors have to be at least 23 years of age. I was told that they don’t want too many college students enrolling because they are afraid that a college student’s plans will change and that they may be more likely to break the one year commitment. I can see their point. They don’t want the “at-risk youth” to feel abandoned by their mentor.

The woman I talked to said they have many students who have been referred to them by their public school guidance counselors, but they are still looking for mentors. If you or someone you know may be interested, contact Michelle Cuebas at michellecuebas@ymaryland.org

A lot of children and teens may not have a stable and positive adult role model in their life, and just one positive influence could make an enormous difference!

The program is free for participants, and they even offer a free Y membership for the mentors.

Leave a Reply

