Memorial Day Weekend Giveaway Kickoff

Posted: May 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

In order to get this blog moving a little quicker, I’ve decided to invite middle schoolers, high schoolers, college students, parents, and community members to guest blog on the site.

As an incentive, I have decided to offer small prizes for the first few guest bloggers. Writing should be around 300-500 words (Microsoft Word will give a word count) and the writing should somehow relate to education in Baltimore.

Here are a few possible topics to write about (I strongly encourage originality, so feel free to choose your own topic):

  • What do you think of the education program you are a part of? Is or has your education prepared you for college?
  • What is a program at your school that you think is really successful or unsuccessful?
  • Why are so many students dropping out? What advice could you give to them, teachers, parents, community members?
  • How is the community affected by the school system and its students?
  • What recommendations do you have that would improve education?
  • What programs are you involved in? How are you helping the community?

Again, feel free to stray from the topics I have suggested. Also, if you would like to add a photo you have taken or your own artwork, that would be awesome.

I am awarding small prizes (sorry, no televisions or Ipods to give away) to the first 3 quality samples that I receive. By quality, I mean thought-provoking. You don’t have to be an amazing writer to submit. So the things I’m giving away as of now are:

1. A new softback copy of Scratch Beginnings, by Adam Shepard (This is a really great book. It’s a true story of a 20-something year old who moves to a new town with only $25 and tries to make a life for himself. Look it up on Amazon for the full description).

2. Twilight (the first book of the Stephenie Meyer series) -gently used

3. New Moon (second book in the Stephenie Meyer series) -gently used

4. Gillette Fusion Proglide men’s razor, new in package

Write up your blog and send it over! Email it to Lyeager81@gmail.com and I will let you know when I receive it. If you don’t like my prizes, write one anyway! I’ll see if I can come up with anything else to give away. I’ll mail you your selection and then you can write back and say, wow thanks for the razor. My face is so smooth and I feel like a better person.

Leave a Reply

