Thanks for checking out the site!

Posted: January 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

This blog is new, as you can see, and I may end up changing things around to increase functionality. Basically, what I’m trying to do here is create a virtual meeting place for the Baltimore community where we can come together and discuss Baltimore County and Baltimore City’s public education systems.

I know progress is made every day in Baltimore’s schools, but too many shortcomings still exist, and every semester I meet a new batch of students that the education system has failed (I teach remedial reading and writing to college students). I will be analyzing the responses I receive on this site. I know that “fixing the system” is an overwhelming, and some would say “impossible” task, but I’m up for the challenge, and I hope the contributors to this blog are also up for the challenge. If real change is going to occur, to the point where teens awarded high school diplomas are equipped with the reading strategies and writing skills required for college, then the Baltimore community is going to have to transform from spectators to active participants.

Please take a few moments to share your perspective. I hope 2010 is an amazing year for everyone, and I know that if we persevere, we can bring positive change to Baltimore.

Comments
  1. Teri Wilkins says:

    Back in the mid 1990s, there was a listserv for K-12 teachers hosted by the U of MD. Public and private school teachers shared experiences, resources, and support. This was when the Internet was pretty much all text and no graphics. Social networking tools remind me of the camaraderie of those times. Blogs, Twitter, Facebook, etc. have been incredible tools for my professional development in the past year. Case in point: I’m very happy you contacted me via Twitter. I’ve been trying to bring positive change to education for the past several decades. I don’t think fixing the system is impossible, but it is slow and frustrating, which means that a network of support is crucial. I would add that all educators, not just public school educators, need to be part of the solution. I’m very pleased to accept your invitation to this meeting place.

    • mdeducator81 says:

      Thanks for commenting. I’m new to Twitter and so far am finding it to be amazing. I’m very curious to hear input from private school educators. I’ll probably revamp the site once I figure out what format is going to work best.

      • Teri Wilkins says:

        Are you familiar with the #edchat that happens on Twitter on Tuesday nights at 7:00? Educators from around the world discuss a predetermined topic for one hour. You need a client such as Tweetdeck so you can follow the tweets. You just enter the term #edchat in the search function, and all of the pertinent posts will appear. If you want to participate, make sure any tweets you send have the hashtag #edchat added.

  2. mdeducator81 says:

    No, I hadn’t heard of #edchat. I’m going to look it up now. Thanks for filling me in!

Leave a Reply

