Educators Please Respond Here

Posted: December 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

Please let us know what grade level and subject you teach. How do you feel the year is going? Do you feel you are effectively teaching your students? Why or why not?

Do you feel there is enough parental involvement? Are the students genuinely interested in their education?

Are you in control of your classes or is chaos an issue? Are you able to teach effectively or is there a required teaching method in place that you find ineffective?

Do you have ESL or special needs students who are not getting the instruction they need? Or do you feel everyone’s needs are met?

Thank you for your contribution, and as I wrote in all of my other posts, feel free to address any other issues I have not mentioned.

Comments
  1. peter says:

    Seems you have already made conclusion as to the inability of city dwelers to achieve reading skills. I beg to differ, and its the students not the schools. My grandson went to Catholic Community School, costing $3900/yr, they closed, and he now goes to public school in Baltimore. His reading skills have jumped at a super rate, now reading at a naitonal 3rd grade level. When he left CCS, he could not read. Da,
    Peter

  2. mdeducator81 says:

    Thanks for adding this perspective. I think I may have a bit of a biased view of the school system because I teach remedial education, so I am working with all below-level teenage and adult students. I’m glad to hear that the city school system is helping your grandson to become a successful reader. You also bring up a great point that paying for private school is not always the best solution.

  3. Gary says:

    I am a teacher in Howard County…Most people feel we are the rich county with no problems but we have our fair share of them. Baltimore continues to gain a bad rep. from the outside looking in (Media, talkshows, etc.) I believe change can and will happen in Baltimore. You are absolutely right that its going to take a revival and the students, parents and community MUST participate if there is to be real change.

    I can’t imagine teaching in the city, as I deal with particular “county” problems yearly. However, I think its people like you who in my mind make the most difference.

    City teachers should win medals! (not just be recognized here an there)

  4. Jerry says:

    Hello from the heart of the city. Many Baltimore City schools are doing a very good job at various levels, PreK through 12. However, contrary to popular opinion, it is NOT because of the current CEO. It is because we have some students who do come to us motivated to learn, good teachers who are willing and able to teach them, and good administrators who create learning environments that are conducive to learning in spite of the age discrimination that is going on to push them out.

    Some of our young people have circumstances at home that some of the most experienced adults I know could not survive. In spite of that, they come to us every, single day ready and willing to learn. Baltimore has an incredible adult population that, in too many cases, is drug-addicted and/or dependent upon entitlements. They do not work and live from monthly check to monthly check. I am not writing this to criticize them. I am writing this to underscore the conditions under which some of our students live. I faced this reality years ago and built a student body for which school became a sanctuary as well as an environment with high social and academic expectations. The students thrived! The school continued doing well so long that no research by anyone could have termed the school a “fluke” or the increases in attendance and achievement a “trend”. Eventually, a self-serving administration came into power with an uncredentialed idiot from New York being given day-to-day control of the schools and a CEO who was a puppet to a local power monger. They destroyed the progress that was being made. They spent money like drunken sailors and it all came to light very publicly. Unfortunately, the damage was done. We are STILL recovering from that.

    I, too, am a special educator like you. I see us regaining ground but, make no mistake, it is because of the reasons I originally cited…not anything else. I will say that the current CEO’s return of some school-based authority to principals has helped tremendously. So has his decentralization of the central office. The schools do have more resources in many cases and that helps the students tremendously. However, principals are NOT autonomous by any stretch of the imagination. Every, single thing that is done by a principal is monitored and can be stopped before it is implemented.

    I hope I have helped to shed a little bit of light on what is going on in the City schools. We are making gains but we have a long way to go and much to overcome. We can do it but, in the meantime, some of our students are woefully underskilled…but there are reasons for that and we are trying to address many of those reasons.

    PLEASE keep this blog going and feel free to contact me. Stay strong!

    • mdeducator81 says:

      Jerry,
      Thanks for the support. I know the blog is pretty dead right now, but I’m working on establishing a community. I know they’re out there; I just have to find them!

      Gary,
      Glad to have perspective from a teacher in another county. I agree that parent/community participation is the key!

  5. Jerry says:

    You are absolutely right. There is a community out there. I’m going to do what I can to refer people to this site because I really like your writing and perspective. I’ll be back soon. Best always!

Leave a Reply

